University cooperation

Academic cooperation with German universities is very lively and is partly legally supervised. It is governed by economic and technical cooperation agreements dating from 1962, extended and redefined in 1978. Given the significant growth of the cultural component, this agreement is followed by adapted application protocols which should guarantee the future of this cooperation in a sustainable way. On the other hand, academic and cultural cooperation between Germany and Cameroon is also governed by special arrangements between university institutes. The latter sign together conventions setting the terms of their partnership.

Likewise, the state of inter-university cooperation with the DAAD (German university exchange office), the Goethe-Institut, ERASMUS and many other non-state or parapublic organizations (FES, GiZ, AvH, KAS, Thyssen Stiftung etc) .) is satisfactory, but remains fairly modest.

In short, German-Cameroonian academic cooperation takes place at the following main action levels:

  • Support to university institutions
  • Support for research projects and teams
  • Technical assistance and equipment and support to specialized libraries
  • Grants to Cameroonian students and researchers (research)
  • Teaching and research missions
  • Exchange of teachers, researchers, specialists and supervision of students
  • Exchange of cultural and artistic programs
  • Individual aid

In this context, Cameroon has benefited since 2012 from a Center of Academic Excellence (Center for Scientific Cooperation between Africa and Germany) located on the campus of the University of Yaoundé I with the aims, among others to support and conduct research projects in collaboration with German research organizations, to support African researchers by offering them an appropriate framework for their work and to coordinate exchanges of researchers and students between Germany and Africa.

Numerous inter-university cooperation exists between the different German and Cameroonian universities, and specific cooperation agreements have been signed between the institutions concerned. The smooth running and success of these partnerships depends largely on the dynamism of the researchers involved and of the official officials on both sides.

We can cite in a non-exhaustive manner the following cooperation existing between the Cameroonian and German schools and / or universities:

  • Bamenda University of Science and Technology (BUST) – University of Osnabrück (Psychology)
  • Catholic University of Cameroon Bamenda (CATUC) – University of Osnabrück (Psychology) – Technical University of Ulm (Computer Science, Mass Media); Georg-August-Universität Göttingen (economics)
  • Evangelical University of Cameroon Bandjoun – University of Hamburg (General pedagogy and didactics)
  • University of Buea – University of Bayreuth (BA-MA-Doctorate-Post-Doc Cultural and African Studies among others); Technical University of Chemnitz; Technical University of Brandenbourg at Cottbus-Senftenberg (chair exchanges, scientific conferences)
  • DAW-Zentrum / University of Yaoundé I – University of Leipzig, Bayreuth, LMU Munich, University of Paderborn and Bremen (Scientific research in general)
  • University of Yaoundé I – University of Bielefeld; University of Paderborn; University of Bayreuth, University of Leipzig (German Language, Literature and Civilization; Africanistic); University of Vechta; Freiburg im Breisgau University (Anthropology, ethnology); Cottbus-Senftenberg University (language and literature); Dresden Technical University (IT); University of Kassel
  • University of Ngaoundéré – University of Bremen (Mathematics and SVT; economics
  • Ministry of Sports / INJS – University of Leipzig (Training of trainers; supervision of top athletes)
  • University of Dschang – University of Cologne (Medicine and biomedical sciences); Georg-August-Universität Göttingen; Braunschweig / Wolfenbüttel Higher School of Applied Sciences (Engineering Sciences / Agronomy); University of Düsseldorf (German literature and culture), Bergakademie Technical University of Freiberg, University of Bayreuth, University of Vechta.
  • University of Douala – Technical University of Ingolstadt (Informatics, electrical engineering and engineering sciences), University of Göttingen (Geography)
  • Catholic University of Central Africa (UCAC) – Technical University of Cologne (economics)